Judicial Members

Chairman: Judge David Frearson, SC 

Judge Frearson was appointed by the NSW Government as Chairman of the State Parole Authority in February 2020. His considerable expertise and commanding knowledge of criminal law has been accrued throughout his impressive career spanning 40 years. He was appointed a Senior Counsel in 2004 and a Judge of the District Court in 2009. A former Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions, he was highly regarded as one of the State’s most successful Crown Prosecutors leading numerous, highly complex trials and appeals over the course of 20 years.

Judge David James Freeman 

The SPA’s Alternate Chairman, Judge Freeman has considerable experience in criminal law after a 31 year career as a judge of the NSW District Court. Upon stepping down from the Bench he was appointed an Acting District Court Judge and an Acting Supreme Court Judge.  


Judge Mark Marien SC  
Appointed to the District Court of NSW in 2004, Judge Marien has served the law in a distinguished career spanning 40 years. His roles have included Deputy Senior Crown Prosecutor, a Director of the Criminal Law Review Division of the Attorney Generals’ Department and in 2009 was the first appointed President of the Children’s Court of NSW. He has worked as a barrister in private practice and as a solicitor with the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions and with the Commonwealth Deputy Crown Solicitor’s Office. He was appointed a Senior Counsel in 2003.

John Bailey 

Appointed an Acting Local Court Magistrate in 2008, Mr Bailey served on the Metropolitan and country circuits. Previously a Public Solicitor in the Criminal Indictable Section he has extensive experience in criminal and civil matters.


Chris Maxwell, QC

Highly regarded as an exceptional practitioner specialising in criminal prosecutions, Chris Maxwell, QC was appointed Senior Crown Prosecutor for NSW in 2018 until January 2022.

Having joined the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP) in 1987, he was appointed as a Queens Counsel in 1989, and was deputy senior crown prosecutor for more than two decades. He joined the United Nations Mission in Kosovo in 2002 to prosecute war crimes, terrorism, human trafficking and other serious offence and later served as the UN's Chief International Prosecutor in Kosovo. He has also volunteered with the Mathew Talbot House for homeless men for more than 23 years.


Shaughan McCosker

Commencing his career as a solicitor in 1988, he was appointed an Acting Magistrate in 1994 and a year later appointed as a Magistrate of the Local Court of New South Wales attached to the Armidale and Taree circuit. 


Ian McRae 

Appointed a Magistrate in 1988, Mr McRae is also a former mayor of Temora Municipal Council.  His appointments include NSW Home Fund Commissioner; Senior Coordinating Magistrate Western Suburbs Local Court and Judicial Member of the NSW Racing Tribunal. 


Allan Moore 

Appointed a Magistrate in 1989, he presided at Central Local 
Court for more than decade.  In 2011, he was appointed as a Tribunal Member with the Victims Compensation Tribunal and an Acting Magistrate of NSW.