The SPA sits in panels of five members consisting of:

  • 1 Judicial Officer
  • 2 Official Members (a Police Officer and Community Corrections officer) and 
  • 2 Community Members
Judicial officers are acting or retired Magistrates or Judges of a New South Wales Federal, Supreme, District or Local Court. They are appointed by the NSW Governor on the recommendation of the Attorney General’s Department. Appointments are usually for 3 years duration and members may be reappointed at the discretion of the Governor.

Community Members are appointed by the Governor of NSW on the recommendation of the Minister for Justice. Appointments are 1 – 3 years duration at the Governor’s discretion. 
NSW Police Force officers are nominated by the Commissioner of Police. 

NSW Community Corrections officers are nominated by the Commissioner of Corrective Services and representatives are appointed for 2 years.

As at September 2021, there are eight judicial officers, 17 community members and six official members serving on SPA panels. 

The SPA has a Secretariat led by Director and Secretary Ms Amy Manuell, who was appointed in 2016. The Deputy Director and Assistant Secretary is Ms Elizabeth Leafe.